Month: November 2010

  • Thanksgiving Movie Suggestion

    Not sure why I’m even here anymore, but for old times sake I’ll create a special Thanksgiving post. I wrote about the film “Pieces of April” a few years ago when it came out but I recently caught a few minutes again on Hulu.com and was reminded of how underrated this movie is.  It has some quirks and the humor may not be for everyone, but the third act of the movie is really moving.  In fact, when I first watched this movie I thought the first two-thirds was average at best but my opinion quickly changed at the end.  The movie kind of sneaks up on you and it is at the end you realize that you were being set up the whole time.  There’s nothing fancy about the story but for some reason it resonates deeply with the viewer.  If you have a couple hours to spare or want to have something playing in the background as you prepare you Thanksgiving dinner, check it out (you can see it for free on Hulu).

    This year we are not cooking Thanksgiving ourselves, but will order a complete Turkey dinner from a local catering store.  Since it’s only really the five of us it makes more sense to order out.  I kind of miss the chaos of preparing everything at home but we can save that for Christmas, I guess. Happy Thanksgiving everyone!