Month: October 2011

  • I’ve been interested in photography lately. I recently purchased my first DSLR camera (Nikon D3100) and have been practicing a lot. I really know nothing about the art of photography and have been reading articles online and viewing tutorials on YouTube. The main reason I bought the DSLR is to take high-quality pictures of my dog. The new camera will enable me to take action shots and better night shots. I’ve been taking a photo a day of my dog for the last 5 months and plan on continuing every day. Eventually, I will splice them all together into a video and create a time-lapse type of movie to track my dog’s growth. I think photography could be a hobby that I really get into.

  • Facebook is not fun to me anymore. The interface is cluttered, there is little original content, and there are far more convenient ways to communicate such as Twitter, Instagram, and Tumblr. I think Facebook has gotten too big for its own good. The only reason I don’t shut down my Facebook page is to keep in touch with far away friends and family. I suppose the enjoyment one gets from a social network directly correlates with the quality of the content posted by one’s “friends.” Unfortunately, most of my friends seem to be too busy to post anything of value. Of course, I am guilty of the same thing. I cannot remember the last time I wrote a carefully thought out essay or photoblog. My Facebook wall mostly consists of links to news articles. I think I only have one or two friends who are genuinely entertaining on Facebook. I think we all need to slow down and re-evaluate how and why we use social networking tools.